What is National Occupational Classification and Why it is your first step towards Canada Immigration

If you are planning to immigrate to Canada, you got to know about the National Occupational Classification (NOC). In recent years, Canada has provided its residents with opportunities and security like no other country could provide. This is the reason why many individuals and students from all over the world dream of making Canada their home. Canada has many immigration programs through which people can get in and live their dream in the country.

This process of finding the right program for you will be made untroubled with NOC. The National Occupational Classification (NOC) is a system that can help you narrow down your search based on your professional skill.

What is NOC?

NOC, also known as the National Occupational Classification, is a code-based system that differentiates professions based on their skill requirements and assigns a code to them. For example, legislators, senior managers in health industry, and communication industry come under NOC code O, and HR professionals come under NOC code A.

Choose your NOC

National Occupational Classification plays a very important part in your immigration application. If the attached documents don’t justify your NOC choice, the authorities will reject your application. You can either apply through Federal Express Entry or any Provincial Nominee Program (PNP’s), but the fate of your application solely relies on your NOC.

Each NOC code has a job title, lead statements, and some duties and responsibilities. Your job title and education don’t matter while choosing a NOC. If your work experience matches the lead statements and responsibilities, you will qualify for that NOC.

If you have multiple job experiences, you might be wondering which NOC you should choose.

Well, for immigration purposes you will have to choose one primary NOC and different NOC’s for all positions you have worked on. Your primary NOC might change based on the immigration program you are applying for.

NOC eligibility

NOC codes are classified into different codes and levels for immigration:-

  • Skill code O:- Management Jobs
  • Skill code A:-Professional jobs that usually require a 4-year degree from a recognized university. 
  • Skill code B:- Technical jobs that require only a diploma or skill training.
  • Skill code C:- Intermediate jobs requiring only a high school degree, job training, or both.
  • Skill code D:- Labor jobs with on-site training

You can explore these codes further and find specific job titles by visiting an online job bank’s database managed by Federal government or you can contact an immigration advocate and ask him for advice to choose your NOC

Note:- Skill code O, A, B are eligible for Federal Express Entry

Skill code C is only for the Atlantic pilot program

Skill code D is not eligible for any of the Permanent Residence programs.

NOC is an important part of immigration application. You must choose your immigration program and your province based on your NOC. Every province has  their own eligibility criteria for NOC Skill type. So be precise while choosing your NOC, and make sure you have all documents that can back your NOC claim. If not, the immigration officer has every right to reject your application without giving you a chance for explanation. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Si prega di attivare i Javascript! / Please turn on Javascript!

Javaskripta ko calu karem! / Bitte schalten Sie Javascript!

S'il vous plaît activer Javascript! / Por favor, active Javascript!

Qing dakai JavaScript! / Qing dakai JavaScript!

Пожалуйста включите JavaScript! / Silakan aktifkan Javascript!