How Can You Transfer Data Safely On G Suite after an Employee Leaves?

Earlier people used to work for one company for twenty or thirty years before finally retiring or shifting to some other company. However, these days it is quite common for employees to work for different organizations by the time they hit their thirties. With this frequent change, the organizations experience the issue of security and privacy becomes quite important.

This issue of privacy is not just important for the employee but it is also important for the employer. This concern becomes much more important when a company is using G Suite. However, as a Google G Suite admin, you can ensure safe transfer of data on G Suite by following a few steps. Those steps are mentioned below.

Changing the Security Information

This step requires you to head on to the security section of the Google account of your former employee. Once you are there, then you need to change all the specific passwords that your former employee might have added. You should further revoke all the authorized access items that are listed on the security section. It is further recommended that you should turn off the two-step verification process for the time being. You should also remove all the recovery email addresses or recovery numbers that your former employee might have added.

Save the Data

Chances are that your former employee might have stored up a lot of data that might be quite important to you. So, it is important for you to save all that data. And you can do that by using the Google Takeout option. This option allows you to save all the data that might be linked to the Google account of your former employee.

Securing the Access

As a Google G Suite Admin, you can remove the various mobile devices connected to a Google account. And that is the first step that you need to perform to protect all your existing company data. It is also advised that you should change the password of the account that your former employee was using. You should also reset sign-in cookies. This will ensure that the account gets logged off from every single device it was used on.

Transfer the Data

You need to first log in as a G Suite administrator to transfer all the data that might be stored in files or emails in the Google account of your former employee. To do this, you need to use G Suite data migration services. You can also choose to export the data that might be stored in the form of contacts and calendars.

Delete the Account

Once you have got all the data that you need, then you can simply choose to delete the Google account of your former employee. However, you should make sure that you have got all your data before initiating this process.
These are all the major steps you need to follow to ensure that you are able to transfer all of your data safely after an employee leaves your company. It will keep your G Suite also effective and protected.

If you need help with Strikethrough In Gmail, the author of this articles suggests


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *